How Many Percy Jackson Books Are There?

The Percy Jackson series is a 21st-century take on Greek mythology, focusing on Percy Jackson and his fellow demigod friends at Camp Half-Blood.

How Many Percy Jackson Books Are There

All of the demigods have ADHD and dyslexia, with Rick Riordan wanting to write a series that his son could relate to.

Due to that, he published the first book: Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief, in 2005. Since then, there have been numerous sequels and two film adaptations starring Logan Lerman as Percy.

As of 2022, there is also a Disney+ TV based on Percy Jackson and the Olympians. 

But how many books can an entire TV series be based on it? Well, officially, the Percy Jackson series contains only five novels, but they have also been adapted into graphic novels.

Along with this, there are four companion books and only part of the Camp Half-Blood Chronicles. Following Percy Jackson’s stories are the five novels in The Heroes of Olympus and five more in The Trials of Apollo series.

These books are set in the same universe as Riordan’s Kane Chronicles and Magnus Chase series, and together, they are the books that make up the Riordanverse.

Percy Jackson And The Olympians

Percy Jackson and the Olympians is the first part of the Half-Blood Chronicles. It features Percy as the protagonist as he discovers he is the demigod son of the Greek God Poseidon. There are five books set in this series:

The Lightning Thief

The Lightning Thief was first published in 2005. In the first book, Percy goes on a quest to save his mother and discovers that his birth father is the Greek god of the sea: Poseidon.

Joining him on this quest is his best friend, a satyr called Grover Underwood, and the daughter of Athena: Annabeth Chase. Together, they embark on a trek to the Underworld to discover who stole Zeus’s lightning bolt before a war erupts. 

The Lightning Thief has also been adapted into a graphic novel and got a film adaptation in 2010. This book also marks the introduction to the Greek pantheon, where we find out more about the what gods are in Percy Jackson.

The Sea of Monsters

The Sea of Monsters is the second novel in the series and was published in 2006. Taking place a year after The Lightning Thief, Percy heads back to Camp Half-Blood for the summer with Annabeth and his cyclops half-brother: Tyson.

Together, they go on a quest to save Grover, who has left on his own journey to find the missing Greek god: Pan.

While they’re also there to save Grover, they’re on another quest, along with Clarisse, the daughter of Ares, to find the Golden Fleece to save Camp Half-Blood, which has been under attack.

The Sea of Monsters has also been adapted into a graphic novel and was adapted into a film in 2013. 

The Titan’s Curse

The Titan’s Curse is the third novel in the series and was released in 2007. Taking place six months after The Sea of Monsters, Percy meets Grover with Annabeth and Thalia Grace, the daughter of Zeus, to find two demigods at an Academy.

While rescuing them, Annabeth is kidnapped, and they join the Hunters of Artemis to save her. During this book, a Great Prophecy is revealed, and a child of Zeus, Poseidon, or Hades will bring about the destruction of the Gods and help Kronos defeat them. 

The Titan’s Curse also has a graphic novel adaptation.

The Battle Of The Labyrinth

The Battle of the Labyrinth is the fourth book in the series and was published in 2008. Set a few months after The Titan’s Curse, Percy attends an orientation day at his new high school.

While there, he meets the mortal Rachel Elizabeth Dare, who he had previously met in The Titan’s Curse.

After getting attacked at the school, Percy goes with Annabeth to Camp Half-Blood, where it’s revealed that she needs to lead the group: her, Percy, Grover, and Tyson, through the Labyrinth to find Daedalus. 

The Battle of the Labyrinth has also been adapted into a graphic novel.

The Last Olympian

The Last Olympian is the fifth and final book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympian series and was published in 2009. Set prior to Percy’s sixteenth birthday, he and the other demigods have been at war with the Titan, Kronos.

Upon learning that they plan to attack Manhattan, Percy, with the help of Nico di Angelo, the son of Hades, hatches a plan to defeat Kronos.

Upon bathing in the River Styx, Percy meets the other demigods to fight Kronos and his army in Manhattan, where they all have to work together to stop them from destroying Mount Olympus.

The Last Olympian has also been adapted into a graphic novel.

The Demigod Files

The Demigod Files is the first companion book to the Percy Jackson series, having been published in 2009. In it, there are three short stories set between The Battle of the Labyrinth and The Last Olympian.

This book contains interviews with some campers and a selection of fun activities for the reader. These short stories may be quite…short, but don’t let that fool you. The Demigod Files does a splendid job at hooking you in!

Demigods And Monsters 

Demigods and Monsters is the second (unofficial) companion book, released in 2009. It includes an introduction from Rick Riordan and features essays from other YA authors that provide more insight into the Percy Jackson series.

The Ultimate Guide

The Ultimate Guide is the third companion book, published in 2010. This book contains trading cards, diagrams, and maps of places in the series. There is also a dictionary of every monster Percy has faced. It is treated as a manual for half-bloods. 

The Demigod Diaries

The Demigod Diaries is the fourth companion book, published in 2012. It features four new short stories and contains new, never-before-seen illustrations and activities for readers. 

Final Thoughts

Officially, five novels in the Percy Jackson series feature Percy as the protagonist. But he does appear in The Heroes of Olympus series and The Trials of Apollo series. He has also appeared in crossovers with other books in the Riordan Universe.

Percy Jackson appears in roughly twenty books, but only five novels are in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. That’s quite an achievement, considering how old Percy Jackson is in the books.

If you’re looking for more books like Percy Jackson for adults or other mythical stories for kids, then you’re in luck. The fantasy genre is evergreen and populated with the most wonderful stories!

Sophie Andrea