How Many Wings Of Fire Books Are There?

Books that are directed at children are some of the most diverse and interesting.

This is because when we show stories to children, we are trying to detail the world around them and what other people are like through the stories we tell, while at the same time introducing these concepts in a way that is never too much for them to handle.

How Many Heartstopper Books Are There?

As such, the books that appear before our teenage years can vary wildly in content and design. One of the most interesting series of books that children can read is the Wings of Fire books (If you like these stories, also check out the Magic Tree House Books), which have proven wildly popular in the last few years – especially among older children.

However, when you gift one of these books to your kids, how many more are you going to have to buy? Just how many books are in the Wings of Fire series? Today, we are going to find out.

A Look At ‘Wings Of Fire’

Before we take a look at the number of books within the ‘Wings of Fire’ series, let’s take a look at the history, the plot, and the world at the center of Wings of Fire, while also trying to avoid too many spoilers for those who may not have read the books just yet.

The first Wings of Fire book was released in 2012, called the Dragonet Prophecy, by Tui T. Sutherland. Tui’s childhood was spent in several places – she was born in Caracas, Venezuela, and lived in Miami and the Dominican Republic – before moving to New Jersey for high school.

While she loved the theater and had planned to found a career around it, after her degree in English Literature and masters in Art History she decided to write children’s novels.

She joked that this was more ‘lucrative’ and ‘stable’ than the theater, when directly asked about this career change.

She initially worked as a literary editor at Grosset & Dunlap then HarperCollins, while she continued to work on novels and books in the meantime.

Furthermore, she also became part of the team of people writing under the pseudonym ‘Erin Hunter’ on the Warriors and the Seekers series.

All that she learned from the publishing industry and working in a team of writers encouraged her to forge her own path, writing and publishing her own books.

She published her first truly independent work ‘This Must Be Love’ in 2004, which was a hit, before continuing to write more and more books under her own name and other pseudonyms.

Eventually, she approached the Scholastic Inc. editing team with the idea of creating the epic fantasy book series Wings of Fire. Once they agreed, the book was released in 2012 and became an instant cult classic.

The plot of the Wings of Fire books is focused on different young dragons, called Dragonets, that are fulfilling prophecies throughout their world.

These Dragonets explore one of two continents in the Wings of Fire world – Pyrrhia and Pantala – while interacting with different tribes of dragons.

The books are decidedly anti-war, with many of them focusing on ending major conflicts between tribes and their royal families through diplomacy and peaceful means.

However, what sets this series of books apart from others in the genre is that they do not shy away from discussing heavy or dark subject matter. There are themes throughout the books of abuse, violence, oppression, murder, and even attempted genocide.

How Many Heartstopper Books Are There?

Although this could be bad for children, the extra step of having this happen to dragons kind of adds a buffer to the whole situation, making it a good way to introduce these concepts to children as real things before also informing them that they can happen to us too.

When it was first introduced in 2012, the books of the Wings of Fire series became a powerhouse and one of the most beloved and bought series of children’s novels ever.

Over 14 million of the Wings of Fire books have been bought to this day, and they have collectively remained on the New York Times bestseller list for more than 122 weeks.

How Many Wings Of Fire Books Are There?

Currently, there are 26 different Wings of Fire books.

When broken down further, there are 5 books per series or arc of the entire series – there are 3 arcs – and there are also 5 graphic novels, 4 different short stories, and 2 books detailing the lore of the series, bringing us to 26 books.

The series was so popular there was also supposed to be a Netflix show with production beginning in 2021, however by May 2022 this show was canceled in favor of other projects.

While we would detail the books in order normally, the sheer amount of Wings of Fire books means that this is not really an option, and as such we recommend that you look this up for yourself.

Which Wings Of Fire Books Are Worth Reading?

While you should definitely read the Wings of Fire books in order before you start picking and choosing different books, there are definitely some that you will find yourself going back to more often than others.

Without further ado, let’s have a look at the Wings of Fire books we would find ourselves returning to:

  • Talons of Power.
  • Darkness of Dragons.
  • Darkstalker.
  • Winter Turning.
  • The Dragonet Prophecy.
  • The Hidden Kingdom.
  • The Brightest Night.
  • Assassin.
  • The Poison Jungle.
  • The Dangerous Gift.

These 10 books are what are generally considered the best of the lot with scores over 4.3 out of 5 on GoodReads, however you should read the Wings of Fire books for yourself and see what you think.


Wings of Fire is an epic fantasy novel series that has taken the world by storm. Currently, there are 26 books in the series, with no more planned for the future.

However, the series and the books are considered fantastic reads and beloved by their fans and critics alike, so if you are looking for more books to read, you should give these a go.

Sophie Andrea